Home » Uncategorized » Home Again

Home Again

When I was a kid, I loved growing up in the country. Dickson, Tennessee was very different from Nashville, where I was born. The food was better. The people were nicer, and the woods…I loved walking in the woods.

When I graduated high school in 1984, I couldn’t get out of the woods fast enough. I moved back to Nashville for the bright lights and the party nights. After my feelings got hurt a few times, I decided that the whole state of Tennessee was the problem that needed fixing, so I left, thinking if I never saw it again, I would be just fine with that.

When the world came crashing down around me in 2014, Texas felt like an alien planet and my heart ached for the woods, again. More than anything in the world, I wanted to be in the one place, the last place, where the things and the people had made sense to me. I wanted to go home.

This blog is a celebration of home, my home in the great state of Tennessee. We’ll see how many stories I can remember, recipes I can find, and pictures I can fit on one blog for free. If it gets too full, I guess I’ll have to go premium. By then, hopefully, I’ll have figured out the mysteries of WordPress networking.

My goal is not just to shamelessly brag about Music City and the fantastic people and culture, but to help a reader, somewhere, who’s ready to stop, turn around, and remember who your people are and the stories they told. It’s time to go home. Y’all come in and eat some beans!

One thought on “Home Again

Leave a Reply

